Eisteddfod 2018

Carmarthenshire YFC Eisteddfod 2018

This year again, there was keen competition at St Peters Hall, Carmarthen in the Carmarthenshire Young Farmers County Eisteddfod on Friday the 12th, Friday the 19th and Saturday the 20th of October. After two nights and a day of entertainment and very high standards – Penybont YFC captured the Eisteddfod Shield for the fifth time in a row. Congratulations to the club and to Llanllwni YFC for coming second, and also for coming first in the homework section, and received Elonwy Phillips’ shield.

There was very hard work ahead of our judges with all the competing. Our thanks go to all of them for their service. Helen Wyn had been judging the Music section, Mari Grug in the Reciting, Geraint and Anna Lloyd in the Light Entertainment section, and Anna also judging the Contemporary Dance, Myfanwy Rees judging the Folk Dancing and Dr Hywel Griffiths in the Homework Section.

Our Presidents for the Eisteddfod this year was Meryl James, Pengawse for the first Friday night, Dyfrig and Eileen Davies, Gwndwn for the second Friday night, and Mansel Charles, Chairman of the County Council for the Saturday. Thank you to them for their purposeful words from the stage and for their generous donations towards the funding of the Organisation in Carmarthenshire.

We were very fortunate to have Elin Rees as our accompanist at this year’s Eisteddfod again. We thank her for her service and to the other individuals who were accompanying the members. Thank you also to those who led this year’s Eisteddfod – Hefin Evans, Dylan Bowen, Carys Thomas, Mared Williams, Caryl Jones, Arwel Jones and Iestyn Owen. Our thanks go to Simon Martin for overseeing First Aid. Thank you also to everyone who had been working back stage and at the door with the Officers and other friends of the Organisation.

Our thanks is great to our computers that oversaw the scores. Thanks to Jane Morgan, Marian Thomas and also to Llinos Jones who was also in charge of the certificates. Thanks also to Deian Thomas and Dylan Bowen who were in charge of the Lighting and Sound.

The Crown this year again went back to Llanllwni YFC, but this year we congratulate Sioned Bowen who captured the Crown which was donated by our County Chairman Mared Williams. The Crown was created by Luned Henry, who is a former member of Llangadog YFC. Congratulations also to Carwen Richards, Dyffryn Cothi YFC, for winning the Chair two years in a row. The Chair was also donated by Mared Williams. The Chair was created by Ruth Morgan, Llangadog YFC Chairman and her father John Morgan. Thank you to everyone who took part in the Ceremony, especially to Arwyn Davies, the County President for leading the Ceremony so efficiently this year again.

Thank you to Penybont YFC for stewarding over the whole Eisteddfod and thanks to Addysg Seren, All Pump Services and HB Enoch & Owen for sponsoring the event.

Here are the Eisteddfod Results:

Stage Section

1. Capel-Arthne YFC
2. Llanllwni YFC
3. Dyffryn Cothi YFC

Instrumental Solo
1. Daniel O’Callaghan, Penybont YFC
2. Dafydd Owen, Llanddarog YFC
3. Alpha Evans, Cwmann YFC

Folk Singing Solo
1. Elen Bowen, Capel Iwan YFC
2. Elin Fflur Jones, Penybont YFC
3. Elan Jones, Cwmann YFC

Story and Sound
1. Carwyn Jones and Mared Evans, Penybont YFC
2. Nia Owens and Dafydd Davies, Cynwyl Elfed YFC & Ioan Harries and Sion Davies, Llannon YFC

Instrumental Ensemble
1. Llanddarog YFC
2. Capel Iwan YFC
3. Dyffryn Tywi YFC

Hymn Singing
1. Elen Bowen, Capel Iwan YFC
2. Owain Rowlands, Llanfynydd YFC
3. Sioned Howells, Llanllwni YFC

Folk Dancing
1. Penybont YFC
2. Capel Iwan YFC
3. Cynywl Elfed YFC

Mixed Choir
1. Penybont YFC
2. Llanddarog YFC
3. Dyffryn Cothi YFC / Llangadog & Llanfynydd YFC

Solo 16 or Under
1. Bethan Evans, Llandovery YFC
2. Elan Jones, Cwmann YFC
3. Fflur Davies, Llandeilo YFC

Reciting 18 or Under
1. Elan Jones, Cwmann YFC
2. Heledd Jones, Dyffryn Tywi YFC
3. Daniel O’Callaghan, Penybont YFC

Solo 21 or Under
1. Owain Rowlands, Llanfynydd YFC
2. Lois Thomas, Llanllwni YFC
3. Hannah Richards, Penybont YFC

Reciting 26 or Under
1. Alys John, Hendy-Gwyn YFC
2. Ffion Medi Rees, Llanfynydd YFC

Solo 26 or Under
1. Carwen George, Dyffryn Cothi YFC

Contemporary Dance
1. Llannon YFC
2. Cwmann YFC
3. Dyffryn Cothi YFC & Dyffryn Tywi YFC

Reciting Party
1. Llanllwni YFC
2. Dyffryn Tywi YFC
3. Penybont YFC

Mime to Music
1. Capel Iwan YFC
2. Llandovery YFC
3. Llanllwni YFC

1. Elen Bowen and Mari Phillips, Capel Iwan YFC
2. Mari and Cadi James, Llangadog YFC
3. Fflur and Haf Davies, Llandeilo YFC

Stand Up
1. Deian Thomas, Dyffryn Cothi YFC
2. Lleu Pryce, Penybont YFC
3. Owain Davies, Llanllwni YFC

Vocal Ensemble
1. Capel Iwan YFC
2. Llangadog YFC
3. Llanddarog YFC

Musical or Film Solo
1. Owain Rowlands, Llanfynydd YFC
2. Elin Fflur Jones, Penybont YFC
3. Bethan Evans, Llandovery YFC

Humorous Duet or Trio
1. Carwyn Jones, Jac Davies and Tomos Jameson, Penybont YFC
2. Ifor Jones, Hefin Jones and Siriol Howells, Llanllwni YFC
3. Eirwyn Richards and Deian Thomas, Dyffryn Cothi YFC

One Voice Party
1. Penybont YFC Boys
2. Penybont YFC Girls
3. Llangadog YFC

Homework Section
1. Sioned Bowen, Llanllwni YFC
2. Mari Phillips, Capel Iwan YFC
3. Sioned Howells, Llanllwni YFC

1. Carwen Richards, Dyffryn Cothi YFC
2. Luned Jones, Llanllwni YFC
3. Daniel O’Callaghan, Penybont YFC & Ceri Davies, Dyffryn Cothi YFC

Competition for Members 26 or Under
1. Mared Evans, Penybont YFC
2. Ruth Morgan, Llangadog YFC
3. Sioned Howells, Llanllwni YFC

Competition for Members 21 or Under
1. Non Roberts, Llangadog YFC
2. Ceri Davies, Dyffryn Cothi YFC
3. Ella Solloway, St Peters YFC

Competition for Members 16 or Under
1. Ceris Howells, Llanllwni YFC
2. Lewis Thomas, Llanllwni YFC
3. Maia Morris, St Peters YFC

Sentence 26 or Under
1. Mared Phillips, Llanllwni YFC
2. Caeo Pryce, Penybont YFC
3. Ifan Thomas, Llanllwni YFC & Siriol Howells, Llanllwni YFC

1. Rhiannon Jones, Dyffryn Tywi
2. Rhian Hughes, Llandovery YFC & Gruffydd Jones, Llanllwni YFC

1. Siriol Howells, Llanllwni YFC
2. Lynwen Mathias, Dyffryn Cothi YFC & Hannah Peach, Dyffryn Tywi YFC

1. Siriol Richards, Llandeilo YFC
2. Lowri Jones, Dyffryn Tywi YFC
3. Carys Morgan, Llanfynydd YFC

Song Composition
1. Hannah Richards, Penybont YFC
2. Daniel O’Callaghan, Penybont YFC
3. Mared Phillips, Llanllwni YFC & Lora Phillips, San Ishmaels YFC

Club Project
1. Llandovery YFC
2. Gwenno Aled, Llandeilo YFC & Penybont YFC


Latest News